{download Best} A Secret History of Witches (Audio Download): Amazon.co.uk: Louisa Morgan, Polly Lee, Little, Brown Book Group: Audible AudiobooksAuthor Louisa Morgan – Circuitwiringdiagram.co

I really quite enjoyed this book about witches and their geneology, until I reached the Book of Veronica This book started off all right but a bit sudo upper classy and definately how the other half lived, which was fine Veronica a bit too good to be true, but readable THEN when it came to Veronica meeting Queen Elizabeth the queen mother at the start of WWII and saying that Queen Elizabeth was a witch, I stopped reading this book I thought it was going too far and I was disasppointed but the the author is American and I suppose she thought she could get away with it Sorry but if it had been a British author, writing the President of the USA was a warlock, I don t think the Americans would be best please. Utterly spellbinding Historical story of a generation s of a family who are connected by a Crystal In each generation one female member of the family can access the Crystal and magic Some use it for good and some for evil Very enjoyable unusual read. A lengthy novel that follows the lives of the Orchiere family, a family of Romani gypsies who flee France in fear of being burnt as witches.One life follows another each with its own deep secrets, dreams and aspirations Each faces up to a personal dilemma, some with success than others.Starting in 1821 when the family flee from Brittany and following the daughters as they mature and grow into their powers Not all will make the right choice but each will pass on the spark that brings the scrying stone to life to the next They will face the choices they made and live hard lives often fearful of discovery.I really enjoyed the book but I felt it lacked a vital something it needed just a little spark somewhere to lift it into 5 s The end felt a little flat which was a shame because it s just so close to the next level. What I really enjoyed about this book was the slightly unconventional timeline of the story It follows the same family of witches from 19th century Brittany, to WWII era England, tracking the adversity they faced in preserving their craft and traditions Thoroughly engaging from start to finish, with well developed, strong female characters that you can t help but be moved by If you enjoyed A Discovery of Witches by Celia Harkness or Paula Brackston s The Winter Witch then you ll love this Don t expect wildly dramatic magic, this is a subtle sort, it is about the human story and the relationships between the women of the Orchiere line. It was an interesting story that i loved reading, until it got to modern day, when it went a bit weird, and the ending was such a let down, i expected i guess, not just left. I really loved this engrossing saga about a family cursed with magical ability and the extra spin put on events surrounding WW2 worked particularly well Highly recommended for fans of family based historical adventures with a twist of magic Simple, easy read Stories if different characters pretty superficial and summarised Lovely sweet book but could have been much greater. Zu Beginn konnte mich das Buch tats chlich fesseln, obschon ich weitaus bessere Romane kenne, die das Leben von Hexen beschreiben.Der Schreibstil der Autorin im Klappentext wird lediglich angegeben, es sei ein Pseudonym, ohne weitere Angaben ber die Autorin ist ausbauf hig, und da dies wohl ihr erstes Buch ist, gehe ich davon aus, da sie sich noch verbessern kann f r meinen Geschmack h tte das Vokabular etwas einfallsreicher und abwechslungsreicher sein d rfen, doch der Verlag hat sich offenbar nicht daran gest rt, zumal es ja ver ffentlicht wurde.Am meisten st rt mich jedoch Vorsicht Spoiler da die Autorin ein Mitglied des englisches K nigshauses, das noch nicht wirklich lange tot ist und dessen Verwandte noch leben, zu einer Hexe macht Und das ist, gelinde gesagt, eine Frechheit Ich vermag mir nicht vorzustellen, da die englische K nigin sehr amused w re, w te sie, wie hier mit ihrer n chsten Verwandtschaft umgegangen wird.Wenn man als Autorin schon historische Pers nlichkeiten verwenden m chte, sollte man dies mit etwas mehr Respekt tun und vielleicht wenigstens ein paar hundert Jahre zur ckgehen oder warten, hem W re ich meinem ersten Impuls gefolgt das Buch nach den ersten f nfzig Seiten beiseite zu legen , h tte ich diese Entt uschung eines Romans so vielleicht gar nicht wahrgenommen Nun, man ist ja hoffentlich lernf hig. Discover a magical historical saga of mothers, daughters and the power of witchcraft perfect for fans of A Discovery of Witches, Outlander and Nora RobertsIt s true, ma petite If they know if they discover what we are they will try to kill usBrittany,After Grand mere Ursule gives her life to save her family, their magic seems to die with her Even so, the Orchires fight to keep the old ways alive, practicing half remembered spells and arcane rites in hopes of a revival And when their youngest daughter comes of age, magic flows anew The lineage continues, though new generations struggle not only to master their power, but also to keep it hidden But when World War II looms on the horizon, magic is needed urgently than ever not for simple potions or visions, but to change the entire course of history A Secret History of Witches is a moving historical saga that traces five generations of fiercely powerful mothers and daughters witches whose magical inheritance is both a dangerous threat and an extraordinary gift Shortlisted for the Endeavour Award Ok I wanted to love it I really did but it just didn t live up to the hype, the book lacked substance, the characters were weak and it just felt like a generational do over each time but with different scenery The author didn t come across as having done thorough research especially into the Witchcraft side of things and I realize it s a book of fiction but I personally prefer an author who researches.The ending was a total let down as it was not a complete ending but then the whole story had threads unfinished.